Home » Artistic Categories » My Poems » Bistro – A Place to Sit

Bistro – A Place to Sit

(Poem by Sophia Shapira)

A place to sit and to unwind
Amidst a hostile world out there –
With hostile legions kept away
By deed courageous and so rare.

All hands against me reigned for years.
My very heart was marred with bruise.
And those to whom I fled in tears
Would tell me to respect their views.

The views of those who hounded me
For having nerve just to be born.
Their right to tear me unto shreds
Outweighed my own to be untorn.

And then I read it in the news
Someone had stood up for my right.
An here I come to pay my thanks –
And also feed my apetite.

– – Sophia Elizabeth Shapira
– – 2012-05-07

Leave a Reply

