Home » Artistic Categories » My Poems » To Shine So Bright

To Shine So Bright

(Poem by Sophia Shapira)

To shine so bright to those so far away
That they may never see me face-to-face
Is less encouraging than mild a-glow
To those I see in everyday rat-race.

The ones who get to see my written word
Are few – and most live many miles away.
It won’t eclipse what I must overcome
In front of those who meet me day-to-day.

At strumming chords, I know I’m not the best –
But then, a pro I don’t pretend to be.
But doing so can bring my skill at verse
To where the folk I actually meet can see.

– – Sophia Elizabeth Shapira
– – 2012-05-12

Leave a Reply

