Home » Artistic Categories » My Poems » The Riddle of Attraction Baffles Me

The Riddle of Attraction Baffles Me

(Poem by Sophia Shapira)

The riddle of attraction baffles me
As I must struggle to discern my heart –
Because as much as I may try to see,
For finding out my way, there is no art.

For he who fills my heart with strongest urge
To bring him into me – oh boundless fun –
Will also cause my primal fear to surge;
And for my own dear life I’ll have to run.

Yet she who does not threaten me at all
Can never stir in me a lustful thought.
No wish to join with her can I forth call –
I sense her beauty, but desire her not.

With no escape from this maroon in sight,
I stand defeated in love’s losing fight.

– – Sophia Elizabeth Shapira
– – 2012-05-13

2 Comments

  1. Hanna Shapira says:

    I love this one too! You chose a very nice design for your blog.

Leave a Reply

