Home » Artistic Categories » My Poems » May God Forgive Me All the Ways I’ve Failed

May God Forgive Me All the Ways I’ve Failed

(Poem by Sophia Shapira)

May God forgive me all the ways I’ve failed.
You’ve guided me, and yet I lost my nerve,
For somehow, it is clear, my faith has ailed.
I know, Your mercy I do not deserve.

Yet I know that Your Son has taught us so
To ask You worthy things, and You will give.
And so I pray, my faith You help it flow
So that my broken heart can once more live.

That I may come to feel it in my heart
That longings You place in me, You’ll fulfill –
That I’ll have courage, thus, to do my part
And live my life according to Your will.

Give me the strength to serve You, oh my Lord –
That with Your saints, I’ll too reap Your reward.

– – Sophia Elizabeth Shapira
– – 2012-05-15

Leave a Reply

