Home » Artistic Categories » My Poems » If Life Would Have Me Live as an Old Maid

If Life Would Have Me Live as an Old Maid

(Poem by Sophia Shapira)

If life would have me live as an old maid
And never find for me a loving mate –
And when my days are done, a quiet fade
As anyone’s concerned might be my fate.

Oh no survivor will I leave behind
Nor anyone to rest my bones beside –
For love will never get around to bind
And therefore I will never be a bride.

If I could only make myself not-care
I would have much more happiness indeed.
But though I’m much improved in how I fare
Love still remains a basic human need.

To thus be single my entire life
A spinster out-of-era, not a wife.

– – Sophia Elizabeth Shapira
– – 2012-05-16

Leave a Reply

