Home » Artistic Categories » My Poems » The Comfort of Another’s Tender Eyes

The Comfort of Another’s Tender Eyes

(Poem by Sophia Shapira)

The comfort of another’s tender eyes –
A shoulder there to cry on when I’m sad –
Or celebrate when walking on the skies –
To share the good times and to share the bad.

To feel my heart pound like a mighty drum
And find myself go weak all in the knees,
As butterflies just flutter in my tum,
Such sweeping, lovely feelings such as these.

To have my heart just flutter at his touch
And feel a love as boundless as the sea –
To have that joy – oh it would mean so much –
But sadly, I do doubt it’s meant to be.

My fate, it seems, is that I walk alone,
My heart thus left as cold as any stone.

– – Sophia Elizabeth Shapira
– – 2012-05-23

2 Comments

  1. Gabriel Shapira says:

    Loved this one!

  2. Hanna Shapira says:

    I love it. I also feel sorry that you feel this is your predicament.

Leave a Reply

