Home » Artistic Categories » My Poems » I Can’t Be Concerned ‘Bout your Bone

I Can’t Be Concerned ‘Bout your Bone

(Poem by Sophia Shapira)

Melinda came to the meeting,
Stood up in front of the crowd,
Admitted she needed help more than anything,
Baring her weakness out loud.

She relaxed when she saw the plaque showing the words
“Live and Let Live” on the wall,
Till the day that she learned that where she was concerned
That didn’t apply at all.

And they picked apart her identity
Insisting that she would chose
To be the one they’d judge all kinds of ways
Without walking a foot in her shoes.

‘Till one day they gave her a big bowl of nasty
‘Bout answering nature’s call.
This fin’ly caused her to lose it at once
And in a fit she told them all

  Just like you, I came here to recover.
  I’ve got enough junk of my own.
  I can’t take on yours – my hands are all full
  So why don’t you leave me alone?
  I can’t be concerned ’bout your bone.

She then spent a hole in her pocket
Driving to another town
Two or three times a week for a meeting
‘Cos the neighborhood folk shut her down.

She couldn’t arrange no carpool
‘Coz her friends had scattered like mice.
Someone else had a problem with her
And for that she was paying the price.

So while other folks said as much as they had to
‘Bout what made them want to get drunk
She had to keep it as vague as can be
About what had her stuck in this funk.

Some folks would tell her she needed more meetings
And that’s how she’d get down her stuff.
And one day she told one of them straight to her face
Ain’t I commuting enough?

  Just like you, I came here to recover.
  I’ve got enough junk of my own.
  I can’t take on yours – my hands are all full
  So why don’t you leave me alone?
  I can’t be concerned ’bout your bone.

    Give me a break – I just want to recover
    So put down your stick and your stone.
    I’ll hear out your struggles, but can’t take your brunt –
    You’ll have to face that on your own.
    If you can’t, then leave me alone.

  Just like you, I came here to recover.
  I’ve got enough junk of my own.
  I can’t take on yours – my hands are all full
  So why don’t you leave me alone?
  I can’t be concerned ’bout your bone.

– – Sophia Elizabeth Shapira
– – 2012-05-31

Leave a Reply

